July 08, 2012

12:00 PM - 01:00 PM



 Indie Animation Panel 

 Want to learn how to create high quality animation without breaking your bank account? Come to the indie animation panel where guest speakers show you the steps from creation to animation to promoting your project online. Guest speakers Dahveed Kolodny-Nagy, Raul Aguirre Jr., Ken Mora, Jim Lujan, & Steve Sievers have successfully worked on their own independent animation projects and working experience  knowledge from Nickelodeon to Disney.

Steve Sievers is the panel moderator who is the co-creator, animator, producer, & voice talent for the award winning animated series Supa Pirate Booty Hunt.

Dahveed Kolodny-Nagy is the president at Smorgasbord Productions where he produces animation segments playing on the Coca-Cola and Toshiba billboards in Time Square. Dahveed has produced broadcast quality animation for television projects such as “Bustice” for G4′s Attack of the Show and Teapot which aired on Nickelodeon as part of Random Cartoons.

Raul Aguirre Jr. is an eighteen-year veteran of the animation business. He's hung his pencil at places like Nickelodeon, FOX and most notably Walt Disney Feature Animation, where he was the protégé of Glen Keane on Treasure Planet. Currently Raul is an animation instructor at The Gnomon School of Visual Effects and host of his own pod cast MAN VS ART.

Ken Mora established his own sole-proprietorship production company Bella Fe Films in 2008 to produce the short film adaptation Magnum Farce: A Shot in the Park which garnered top accolades at film festivals. Ken was an Executive Producer on Alexia Anastasio’s documentary 'Adventures In Plymptoons,' the story of the Bill Plympton, the "King of Indie Animation."  Since then, Bill Plympton has come on board as Advising Producer on Magnum Farce, the feature film.

Jim Lujan is a southern California independent animator with his own signature style featuring hilarious characters on the fringe of society. A style he's coined as "Ghettomation" with his own successful animation festivals throughout southern California. Jim creates his own art, voices, and music.

Spike Spencer 

Russell Hornbeck 

Supa Pirate Booty Hunt / Music Saves Lives Panel Thursday July 5th @ Pop Con LA

Supa Pirate Booty Hunt is the award winning animated series that follows the adventures Cpt Zack Stevers & Daniel the Turtle as they search the seven seas for what else…BOOTY! Supa Pirate Booty Hunt is now working for the non-profit Music Saves Lives, an organization that encourages young adults to donate blood.  So far they have collected over 1 million units of blood in the past 6 years. SPBH is producing animated PSA episodes with each one pairing Cpt Zack & Daniel the Turtle up with a different music celebrity such as 3OH!3 and Dave Mustaine of Megadeth. See sneak peak of upcoming animation and get prizes from Music Saves Lives at the panel.

Panel guests:

Dahveed Kolodny-Nagy: SPBH co-creator, writer, & lead artist/animator.

Steve Sievers: SPBH co-creator, writer, producer, & voice of Daniel the Turtle.

Spike Spencer: Voice Actor from (Evangelion, Battle Angel, World of Warcraft) and voice of Cpt Zack Stevers.

Russel Hornbeck: Music Saves Lives Director.

Parris Harris



 Star Wars star Billy Dee Williams (Lando Calrissian), Bruce Boxleitner (Tron), Stephanie Erb (True Blood), Richard Hatch (Battlestar Galactica), several members of The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers and other celebrities will be signing throughout Friday, Saturday and Sunday. You can also take pictures with them, which will be developed right on property so you can have the celebrity sign it. Perfect for framing. Get your VOUCHERS now to get on the VIP signing lines. email to request yours now. 



Combat Radio will be streaming live from PopConLA July 6 through 8th at Booth #302 in Concourse West Hall. with Dean Haglund of the Lone Gunmen from the X-Files.




  Send in your Cosplay pics to The top 30 costumes will walk the catwalk during the Cosplay Fashion Show on Saturday, July 7th on the Main Pop stage. 



 Here is the list of Nominations for the 2012 ITVfest Awards - Click Here